## 1.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, Dates of Admission to Confederation, Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected and Present Areas

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (sq. miles)		
					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario <sup>1</sup> Quebec <sup>2</sup> Nova Scotia New Brunswick	July July July	1, 1, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867.	348, 141 523, 860 20, 743 27, 473	64,441 71,000 325 512	412,582 594,860 21,068 27,985
Manitoba <sup>3</sup>	July	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	219,723	26,789	246,512
British Columbia	July	20, 3	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	359,279	6,976	366.255
Prince Edward Island.	July	1, 1	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	2,184		2,184
Saskatchewan <sup>4</sup>	Sept.	1, 1	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)	220,182	31,518	251,700
Alberta4	Sept.	1, 1	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3)	248,800	6,485	255,285
Newfoundland				The British North America Act, 1949 (12-13 Geo. VI, c. 22)	147,994	7,370	155,364
Northwest Territories <sup>5</sup>	July	15, 1	1870	Act of Imperial Parliament-Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	1,253,438	51,465	1.304.903
Mackenzie <sup>6</sup> Keewatin <sup>6</sup> Franklin <sup>6</sup>	Jan.	1, 1	1920 1920 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	493,225 218,460 541,753	34,265 9,700 7,500	527,490 228,160 549,253
Yukon Territory <sup>7</sup>	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6)	205,346	1,730	207,076
				Canada	3,577,163	268,611	3,845,774

<sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

<sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 45) and diminished Mar. 1, 1927 in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council whereby approximately 112,000 sq. miles of territory (formerly considered as part of Quebec) was assigned to Newfoundland.

<sup>2</sup> Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

<sup>4</sup> Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Athabasca, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

<sup>6</sup> By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105) the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-Western Territorivers by the Act of 32-33 Vict., c. 3 and as the Northwest Territories by R.S.C. 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880) all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by 4-5 Edw. VII., c. 27. The Province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by 44 Vict., c. 14. The Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formal out of a portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

<sup>6</sup> By 39 Vict., c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 39 Vict. was never proclaming med. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assimbion, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabasca were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ingava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to the Provinces of Alberta in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territories were nanexed to Quebee, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council of Markenzie ware formed the Northwest Territories were divided Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts of were the provisional districts of the provisional districts was formed. Markenzie were provisional districts was the subscience of the territories were annexed to Quebee, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council of the territories were annexed to Alberta in the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts was the Markenzie and Franklin.

<sup>7</sup> The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (R.S.C. 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and by the Yukon Territory Act (61 Vict., c. 6) was declared to be a separate Territory.